My Husband

Our one month anniversary? Gosh, yes it is. Some of my favorite days ever have fallen in the last month, many of them actually- about twenty-nine of them (: And in two days we will have known each other for exactly five months. How crazy is that? Sigh. Anyway- My totally-phenomenaloff-the-charts-amazinghilarious-incredible husband is taking over today. Life is good. God is great. Catch you on the flip side. Love and love, Amber. 

Joseph: If you had told me 6 months ago I’d be married, have 4 more kids, be living in the suburbs and back at Gateway- I would have laughed in your face. Really. I would have gone and eaten Italian food with extra garlic and come back and- Laughed. In. Yo. Face. Because that- this- is crazy. And yet- I couldn’t imagine any other life.

You already know this girl, my wife- Amber. She makes it sound like she fell for me, but truth be told- I fell for her much harder.  I was sucker for her from the moment I saw her. Ask me to tell you that story the next time I see you.

For now- She wrote me a love letter a while back and I wanted to return the favor, so here’s my response, (well some of it because she edited me:)

Bebe,

I love you. Truly I do.

I have known of you through mutual friends since December 31, 2010, yet it was only around the second week of April 2011 that I read one of your blog posts here and was like, “Oh, she’s divorced like me. Oh, she’s a single parent just like me. How cool is it that she attends my old church and loves and adores people that I love and adore?”  And then after reading about your life, and a little about Griff, Gabe, Emma and Grace, I had to read about your experience through divorce and the transition into being single.  I started off reading one post and stopped halfway through. I wishfully thought, “If I am so lucky as to actually meet her one day, I want to hear her tell this story, to see her tell this story”. I read another post and had to stop in the middle again: “Okay, this is freakin’ ridiculous. I have to meet her”. (And I have said this a million times- I had no romantic intentions in meeting you. I just wanted to hear your story.) Funny how a nanosecond within a Thursday 5 o’clock coffee meeting changed all that. I got there about 5 minutes early and so happened to look up as you were walking in– Wow.  And then you waved at me. When your hand finished that wave, I knew right then I was done with all the other girls on this planet and you were the one for me.  I was through. I wanted you.

And guess what? Every single moment I’ve been with you has been frickin’ awesome and quite simply, the best time of my life, (Dirty Dancing reference? Maybe). But in my life with you, all the clichés apply. Every day- better than the day before. Every moment- all the more wonderful. The more I know you, the more I love you. The more time I spent with you, the closer I wanted to be. The times I got to spend with your kids, all the more precious. Everything I did and said I hope was a true reflection of my heart and this truth: I want to be your husband. I want to be yours forever.

Just knowing you for exactly five months, I have a wealth of stories to share that would let the world know how much you love me, how much you care for me, how much you are for me.  But quite honestly, it all boils down to this- you are the best wife ever.

Let me tell the world (a few of the many;) reasons why I love you:

Your cooking- You have this fantastic ability to make anything delicious. Take anything in the kitchen and make it sublime. I love your laugh. I love making you laugh- to hear it. Oh- And you’re the best kisser ever. And I love, LOVE the way you serve me. You don’t ask if you can serve me, you tell me. “Babe- let me do this or that.” And then you do it- blows my mind. I love your hair, the way it smells and feels and falls. And the way you stop what you’re doing and come to me when I get home from work and kiss me, and it makes me forget about whatever shitty things happened at work. And without question one of my favorite things- our theological discussions, you engage and you debate and you teach me and you learn from me and I think you like it just as much as I do, I love that. Now- are you an amazing mom? The best, I could write pages about how you mother, but for now I just want to focus on you.

And you know what? You don’t give yourself enough credit, at all, not even close. Because- you can do all these things you don’t think you can do. You’re brilliant, baby. You’re so brilliant. God has made you brilliant and that’s a fact.

And babe, no matter how jacked up my thoughts and words and actions are, you are forever patient, kind and thoughtful with me. Every single time I mess up and make the wrong decision, your grace abounds for me.

When my world goes cold, you are pure warmth.

And when everything fails, you point me to God..

You are sexy. 

You are brilliant. 

You are wise. 

You are gorgeous. 

You are hilarious. 

You are altogether lovely.

Yet, those are not the reasons why I love you the most.

I freakin’ love you because you love God more than you love me.

And because you love God above all, I know that you have an endless amount of love for me, for all of your Loves.

I know this to be true because the love you have shown me has left me breathless.

This thing? What we are doing? Doesn’t make sense.  With all of my intellect, logic and reasoning, I have long since stopped trying to make sense of our love.

My only response- to love you all the more.

I love you.  I love you. And I love you. For life.

 Love, 

Me

6 Comments to “My Husband”

  1. This is the sweetest ever. Joseph, I am so glad Amber has you. She deserves a man to remind her every day that she radiates love and all things beautiful. ❤

  2. Oh, Am, this just brought tears to my eyes! I’m so glad you’re both so fulfilled in your relationship with God, and beyond amazed/fulfilled at your relationship with eachother. This story right here, the real world testimony of 2 wonderful people falling in love, makes hearts happy everywhere. That pic you put the other day of Joseph with the little boy at the park pulled at my heart strings. But this? Oh, wow! Above and beyond pulling at heart strings, kinda like makin’ my heart hum, and just keep humming. You got what every little girl dreams of…..the fairy tale, without the wicked stepmother/stepsisters, without the pumpkin at midnight…just the fairy tale we all dream of. And I could not be happier for you. You, above all people, deserve to be loved the way you love everyone else, without restriction, without bounds, with your whole heart, mind, body and soul.

    Much love to you two!
    Ashley

  3. This was so honest and real that it made it that much more beautiful to read. These two sentences were the reason HolySpirit drew me to this blog:

    “And babe, no matter how jacked up my thoughts and words and actions are, you are forever patient, kind and thoughtful with me. Every single time I mess up and make the wrong decision, your grace abounds for me.”

    These are like modern day Proverbs 31 verses. What wife wouldn’t want to know that [this] is how her husband sees her? And what husband wouldn’t want to be able to write [these] very sentiments about his wife?

    They have inspired me to not forget, and more importantly [re]embrace, the simple pleasures and meaningful exchanges of being a wife; of loving your husband in a way that coats his lips patience, kindness, thoughtfulness and graciousness so that those aren’t adjectives he has to think about, instead they are natural outpourings of a sweetness that always lingers because it’s in such abundance.

    Thank you … Joseph and Amber

  4. Just a quick note in case you wanted to know … the time stamp on your blog is on some other time zone. I left my comment at 9:03am, not 2:03pm. There must be some place far away y’all are looking to visit one day. Maybe the time zone is a reflection of that? 😉

  5. I am at a loss for words. Thank you all so much.

Leave a Reply

