Surrender

Sitting child’s pose on my floor last night and thinking- this is where my forehead belongs, resting, not pressed on this ground. I am tired and there is so much- and this curling, this stilling of my hands and feet, I need it.  And this, giving over, not up, this laying down, it is good.

Child’s pose because I am a child. I am His and He fathers well. Never has he forsaken me. Never have I placed myself at His feet and been abandoned.

And let me just say- everything is good. My life is good right now. But I am worn just the same. There are things to be done, even in the good times, that make escaping exhaustion impossible. But this tired, it is not only from working hard during good times. This tired? It is weariness of trying. My forever and ever, going and going figure-it-out-problem-solving mind is fatigued for sure.  My feet, they need a break from running; I am no sprinter and my lungs burn. And my hands most always holding something, they need unfolding.

And so here I am, or there I was- child on the floor. Not so much an involuntary collapse, (though I’ve had plenty of those), as a willful surrendering.

I am tired. He is able. The end. (Beginning?)

“Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us…” Eph. 3:20

2 Comments to “Surrender”

  1. Wow! I ღ this post. It is right where I need to be. “I am tired. He is able.” Yes, exactly. My counselor said that I know the Bible and the love of God in my head, but not in my heart, so I am running a race that is not going to stop until I stop, drop, and allow Him to show me His love. This is exaclty where I am. “A child’s posed because I am a child. I am His and He father’s well.” As I child, I had to grow up quick and really never experienced being a child, and I am beginning to see that it is hard for me to sit in His presence and just be a child. But, as you said in your blog, “not so much an involuntary collapes, … but as a willful surrender.” I need to surrender, and maybe not for the same reasons as you stated, but for my own good. Thank you for this post. I absolutely needed it and loved it. Blessings to you. You touched my heart especially today. ღ ღ ღ ღ TMO ღ ღ ღ ღ

  2. i found you through good women & i just wanted to say i LOVE your writing and this blog…will definitely come back to read more of your thoughts. 🙂

Leave a Reply

