My Ten Year Old

He is such an old soul. 

**Edited to add his prayer request the other night: "I really want God to help me accomplish my goals because I have a lot of really big goals and they're important.  And I can't do them all by myself."

Can I just gush for a minute or two?
Baby griffey
This boy, this manchild, this son of mine…

Griffey boy

I am so glad nobody talked my crazy, know-it-all eighteen year old self out of having this amazing boy. 
Boy griff again
And I will not go on about how the first eight days of his life he scared us to death with his little NICU stint, or how I never put him down even when he was sleeping, or how I read him Steinbeck novels and played Fleetwood Mac to rock him to sleep.  I will not go on about how his birth changed the hearts of both of his grandmothers, or how he has been saying the most profound and funniest things since he was two years old. 
163964933_15b67025b6_o

I will go on about how he has grown into the most awesome ten year old ever.  When he was five he prayed “Dear God, please make me a better kid so I can show the world what it’s like to follow Jesus.” And I have a notebook full of great things he has said between now and then.  *Sigh*  This boy…
163965015_301b0f076e_o
When I ask him to unload the dishwasher he says “My pleasure” without even the slightest hint of sarcasm.  When we meet new people he puts his arm around me and introduces me “This is my mom, Amber. She is a really great mom and she is an amazing photographer” and then he goes on to introduce the rest of the family with their names and some positive quality he sees in them.  Love.
 847727108_b5de69c37a_o
He walked into the kitchen the other day and said “According to Einstein’s theory everything that has mass has energy, so really if we want to save the planet all we need to do is find a way to harness energy that doesn’t do so much harm to the planet. I’m going to work on that.”  And he went back to mapping out plans in his notebook. And that is kind of Griffen in a nutshell, he is never not working on something, internally or externally. 
2165043402_3d60fce42d_o  
A few nights ago in the car I was “having a discussion” with the kids about their behavior and making better choices, but I was admittedly being pretty negative.  Then my ten year old put his hand on my shoulder and said “Mom, it seems if you only concentrate on the problem, the problem will grow or be the only thing you focus on and that’s not helpful.  Why don’t we talk about some positive ways we can change?” 
159
And then I swallowed really hard and took a deep breath and said thank you, because every time we leave church after I ask what they learned about, he asks me and apparently he listens.  Incredible. 
3986468894_aabdb4c737_o
This morning after he got ready for school he came up to me and handed me this poem:
If you have no Life
You have no heart
No imagination, no soul

Thank God for your Life
For His Son sacrificed His
4390028402_f8ce2d6efc_o
Really?  Yes, really.  I could write pages of his amazingess really.  He is quirky, he is different, he is so very ten years old sometimes, he can be just as frustrating as any other ten year old.  And he is beautiful, he is amazing.  And this child of mine, Jesus is in him and He knows it and that is the most important thing. (Please don't mistake this for me taking credit for all of his amazingness, really I was still a kid when he was born and I screw up this parenting thing all the time.  I'm sure good intention counts for something, but honestly I think it is by the Grace of God that I get to be his Mom and I am so beyond excited to see how he will change the world.) 

1662
Keep shining Griff.
Love, love,
Mom 

3 Comments to “My Ten Year Old”

  1. wow… i’ve never really met your griffin, but i got choked up reading this. what a great little man you’re raising!

  2. This made me cry. He really is amazing, and so are you 🙂

  3. This made me cry, too. It truly is so, so, so amazing how amazing kids can be. And, it shows such great character, when a parent, no matter how genius a kid is, can say, “I learn things from my kids”, because parents don’t know everything and aren’t totally superior to their children.
    I will probably always agree that Griff is a great man-boy(boy-man?). He definitely has the maturity and strength, and character of a true, wonderful man, at such a young age. Its incredible.
    Maybe God placed him in your life for the reason that you needed to see all hope was not lost for certain situations. (is that insensitive? seriously. because i want to say it, but maybe its one of those things where i should keep it to myself, and i’m only just learning what i should and shouldn’t say (truly).) So, if what I wrote was inappropriate, please forgive, but I hope you’ll know and understand, and take to hear that I have every intention of stating that in a positive respect. That is how I look at it. When I see my son, and he does those things, I like to think that God had that in mind for me… so, maybe I’m wrong and I’m projecting my feelings and forcing them as well, onto you and your son.
    He’s a beautiful mind. (Griffin)

Leave a Reply

