Molly and Crew

So this is kinda the story of how Molly and I became friends…

   

370.1
Debby was my mentor and friend for a while, a
year maybe, and I knew she had these two daughters that she totally adored, but
for whatever reason I hadn't met them.   So for
the longest time all I knew was that Amy existed and she was the best wife and
mother in the world, and Molly existed and she was totally charming and
fabulous.   When I first started hanging
out with Molly she was pregnant with her first baby and I was separated from my
husband.  And so it was at these very
opposite stages that two very opposite girls became more than friends.  And Debby was right, Molly is totally
charming and fabulous.  She is her
Mother’s daughter in just about every way possible, with her Daddy’s Killer
lashes and smile. 

372.2

While Molly was pregnant with Cade and we were still kind of getting to know each other, God gave me a vision of
her and her new baby and a word for her. 
From what I understand Molly was different before Caden. Now I suppose all
moms are different before they are moms, but I didn’t know Pre-Cade Molly very
well, and so this word I had for her was something about her being fierce which
really didn’t mean much to me being that I didn’t know her that well. But now
that I do, well let's just say I
really understand why the word was so fitting.   

3593515911_d0e27eeb42_b 

In this vision I saw Molly loving this new baby boy.  And I don’t know how to explain how amazing
it still is now, the look I saw on her face and the sweet little crown of her baby
boy in her arms…    Amazing, that’s all I
got.  Though at first we may have doubted
whether or not that vision and word was truly from God, all of that was put to
rest when he was born.  I went to the
hospital to meet him on a terrible day for me in the midst of my divorce, but this
little boy, he made all the terrible of that day go away.  As I held his tiny self Debby said I should take
his hat off and look at his hair.  And oh man, I still remember, that's when I knew it was him.  His hair, not blond or brown, not curly or
straight, just a swirly mess on his new little head was exactly what I had
seen. Caden was indeed himself, sent from God just for us.  He was the beginning of a lot of things for a lot of people.  And boy does Molly love him fiercely.  We all do. 
It is one of the things Molly and I have in common, a fierce love of her family,
our friendship was built on it. 


Caden 426.1

So now Molly, this girl who does love her role of baby sister, has sort of become the older sister of an oldest child.  We are More Than Friends for sure.  And as opposite as we may be, her
bigsistering has been just what I needed on many occasions.  I think the things we don’t have in common
have helped us grow.  I think I love that
I get to be whatever it is I get to be to her.
 


374.3

Molly,

Your friendship means the world to me.  From your straightforward advice and
candid humor to your vulnerable sighs and honest words, you’ve taught me a ton
about being a grown up.  You’ve taught me
a ton about being a daughter.  I can’t
thank you enough for letting me borrow your mom, and dad, and sister, and
babies whenever I need a little love.   I
can’t thank you enough for opening your home and heart and welcoming me and all
my messes in.  You inspire me with your
strength and determination.  You humble
me with your encouragement and kind words. 
My life is fuller and richer because of you and your crew.  

Love you so so much, always,
Amber


IMG_0048.3
 





 

2 Responses to “Molly and Crew”

  1. It’s really not nice to make a girl cry at 4:30 in the morning. I will so miss you “and your messes”. My oldest son will surely too. Have I told you he’s started asking for you as one of is regular “peeps” as he does? “mommy, see ammer”. Our lives would not be the same if we hadn’t met you. See ya on the flip side 🙂

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

