The Birthday Girls

Unfortunately for my lovely little girls their birthday's fell in the middle of some major incidents this year.  I think (hope) we celebrated them sufficiently nonetheless.  And I'm still in a little over my head right now, but I do have a few pictures and a quick story to tell…

009_9 

We sat at dinner tonight and went around the table and said why were glad that Grace was born.  Emma said she was glad that she could have someone to play with and dance with.  (It's so wonderfully sweet to me that these two very different little girls are built-in-best-friends and grateful for it.)  Gabe said that he was glad she was born because she made our family big and it wouldn't be a big family without her.  (That is a true statement if I have ever heard one.)  And then it was Griff's turn and he looked Grace right in the eyes and cocked his head to the side and said "I'm glad that Grace was born because she is grace."  He is a profound boy that Griff.  It was an amazing little moment we all had together as we sat and looked at Our Pie and thought about the ways she has made our lives better.  

005_5s

"Oh, and she's cute!  I love her 'cause she brought cute to our family." Gabe said. 

And because Emmy is Emmy, her feelings got hurt and she piped up in her squeaky little offended voice "But I'm cute, and you have me."  Gabe sat for a second and thought deeply about how to right his statement "Well, yes, but I mean very very cute."  he said in a baby talk voice as he looked at Grace and tousled her hair.

013_13
And as I glanced over at Emmy who I knew would be even more upset by that, I heard Griffen whack Gabe on the back of the head. "That's for hurting Emma's feelings Gabe." 

Lovely.  Perfect. Well it is my perfect at least. 

My Princess is five.  I'm not sure how that's possible, but she is.  And she is sure she is ready for the world.  And I am sure she is not, and I am doing my best to get her ready.  And I think this might be forever the way it will be.  And my Pie is three.  My bossy little baby is three years old, one year closer to President of the United States. 

And oh wow, these Four Little Wonders, they are now 3, 5, 7 and 9.  And It is moments like these that make me love love love and yes sometimes hate that I get them all to myself.

4 Comments to “The Birthday Girls”

  1. I loved this.
    This was wonderful.
    I think its really neat that you had them all share a moment. As much as you may dislike it, I may have to steal that.
    Beautiful girls. Growing up and getting bigger. And, both boys still full of wisdom in their own ways. 🙂
    Congratulations and kudos to you.

  2. I miss your kiddos. Bring your girls and have lunch with me next week?

  3. TaGe, thanks! And, of course, take it, I’m sure I got the idea from somewhere else too.
    And Bridge- I think next week is jam packed already. But soon! We miss you too.

Leave a Reply

