Mud Slinging

Today was a long day, I was hoping for a peaceful afternoon.  And it started out peaceful enough.  The kids were playing in the pool.  I was close by, but not too close, entrenched in a good book, zoned out.  Good times.  There was splashing, lots of laughing, the occasional squeal of excitement, a perfect afternoon soundtrack. 

And then… 

Apparently the pool has a bigger leak than I thought.  Because the next thing I know, I look over and see this:
133.1
HEY!
HEY STOP IT RIGHT NOW!!

NOBODY THROW ANYMORE MUD!
STOP!

278

Let me go get my camera-
113.1
because this-
Mudgabe
IS AWESOME!!
194.1
this is way fun
240.1
this is classic
165.1
this is priceless
269.1
this is the kind of wild abandon

116

and happiness
218.1
and joy
309.1
and craziness
264.1
that childhood should be made up of.  

293.1
These are the memories I want them to have.
I want them to be able to make messes, and sling mud, and eat a little dirt. 

255
We had a blast. 

085
I played along when Griffen suggested a mud mask would
"Do wonders for my skin"
365.1
And then I hosed them off.
329.1
A lot.
348
Ten or eleven showers later they were all clean and lovely. 
Ready for dinner and a movie. 
And some snuggles.
So it wasn't the peaceful afternoon I was hoping for.
It was way, way better.

One Comment to “Mud Slinging”

  1. I loved being part of the day, but it looks like I missed the best part!

Leave a Reply

