Lighter Grey

"Define yourself radically as one beloved by God.  This is the true self.  Every other identity is illusion."

From Abba's Child by Brennen Manning.  Go read it now.  And then let's have coffee. 

Is.43:1 Do not fear, for I have redeemed you;
       I have summoned you by name; you are mine.

Is 43:4 You are precious and honored in my sight,
       and because I love you,
       I will give nations in exchange for you,
       and peoples in exchange for your life.

Is 54:10 Though the mountains be shaken
       and the hills be removed,
       yet my unfailing love for you will not be shaken
       nor my covenant of peace be removed,"
       says the LORD, who has compassion on you.
Rained
In the grey of this time and this day, it is good to hear, to read, to know something so black and white. 
Jesus loves me this I know.  My life doesn't really make sense outside of that phrase. 
Me sitting here today thinking about, and writing about love doesn't make sense without that context. 
Fortunately or unfortunately, there are plenty of times in my life that I can look back on and come up with no other
explanation for me being okay than this simple truth.  From a mostly awful childhood, to a mess of an adolescence,
to a hard and hurtful marriage, and now in single momming, I've been carried and taken care of by Sacrificial, Unconditional Love. 
So in this muddled mess of circumstance, perception, feeling and not knowing, this truth pulls me back into the lighter grey. 
His love, perfect and pure is in such contrast to this world's. 
And the way it washes over me like rain, in slight drops at first, falling on my head,
and then in sheets like waves, until I'm drenched, is the realest thing I know.
Lighter grey
1John 4:16 And so we know and rely on the love God has for us.
      God is love. Whoever lives in love lives in God, and God in him.

One Comment to “Lighter Grey”

  1. Good stuff, my Amber I love. The best stuff there is.

Leave a Reply

