Thread

Beware, this is just a random string of thoughts

In honor of our new president…
This guy was standing on a corner today, dress and all:
Randomornot 056.1

And yesterday was my birthday.  We celebrated by staying in our jammies 'til 4 and decorating gingerbread men, because we're conventional. 
The kids made me notebook-paper cards and Gracey sang a never ending version of Happy Birthday sporadically throughout the day.  It was awesome. 
And then I went out for a little girls night.  A yummy dinner with old friends and new ones.  And a great movie, one of those hard to watch but beautiful films. 
Bday
And I am 27 now. 
But who cares, we freaking got a new president today. 
Did you hear that speech?! 
I love how he so eloquently said  "Come on, let's get our crap together.  We're in a hole, but let's climb out one step at a time.  And also, get over yourselves.  This is not about you, this is about a better world. Freedom isn't free.  Change.  Hope." 
I mean, I'm paraphrasing, you should read it

And of course, very self centered me took it all very personally.  As if, A-Rock himself were speaking directly to me, giving me my own personal little pep-talk.  Telling me I could change, he knew I could, he's seen me be better, he sees my potential.  But the whole point is- it is not about me.  Yes I have had a tough year, but who hasn't?  I said to Erin the other day that I was processing some hurt feelings, trying to validate them for myself and at the same time, wondering if they were even valid.  I'm trying to give myself some time and room to grieve hurts and losses while still keeping some perspective.  I want to be able to deal with my stuff instead of stuffing my stuff, but I don't want to get lost in it either.  So I am trying to look outside of myself more.  I'm trying to look ahead a little, trying to look around, trying to be less self centered and see the bigger picture.  Because if this is just about me, dependent on me, if this life is lived only for me, there is no hope. 
Thank God it isn't all about me. 
This whole world is dependent on hope, without it we are, well, hopeless. 

And this day is about change and this day is about redemption. 
Thank God for change and redemption, concepts that I am still trying to wrap my little brain around, but I understand enough to know that because Jesus died for us, it is not hopeless.
Thank God there is hope.  Not because one man is going to do it all, not because of who he is and what he says. It's not all about him either.  But his words today felt like a challenge not only to hope for change, but to work towards it-   
"Today I say to you that the challenges we face are real. They are serious and they are many. They will not be met easily or in a short span of time. But know this, America: They will be met.
On this day, we gather because we have chosen hope over fear, unity of purpose over conflict and discord.
On this day, we come to proclaim an end to the petty grievances and false promises, the recriminations and worn-out dogmas, that for far too long have strangled our politics.
We remain a young nation, but in the words of Scripture, the time has come to set aside childish things. The time has come to reaffirm our enduring spirit; to choose our better history; to carry forward that precious gift, that noble idea, passed on from generation to generation: the God-given promise that all are equal, all are free, and all deserve a chance to pursue their full measure of happiness." -Barack Obama

And Bridge sent me this quote:
"Hope begins in the dark, the stubborn hope that if you just show up and try to do the right thing, the dawn will come."  ~Anne Lamott 

And these pictures are from a little walk I took today, because there is beauty everywhere, even at Walmart.
Randomornot 010.1
Randomornot 011

And this kid was at Walmart today, collecting carts.  I think he looks ready for some change, maybe even hopeful. 
Randomornot 013.1
I don't know.  I really don't. 

These thoughts are all random and only loosely held together by the thread of hope. 
But I trust God to weave Himself into my thoughts and yours, our nation's and the world's.
I'm thankful that He is, and was, and will. 
Hopeful that He will change those of us who want to change.
Randomornot 053.1

 

 

2 Comments to “Thread”

  1. Yup. Hope. It’s the stuff of redemption… the piece that lets you step into the story that is possible because of who Jesus is…

  2. Glad to read your string of thoughts peppered w/ pictures. I love you, Amber! Proud of you and how hard you’re pressing in.

Leave a Reply

